When buildings get in the way

Although I’m embarrassed to admit it, I have sometimes expected the physical trappings of my worship system to be the instrument for change with those I am hoping to lead to faith.  I have watched visitors walk in the front door of a building that some call a sanctuary, observed them participate in the music and readings, and marketed my faith with other stuff.  And I have often expected the stuff to convince them that Christianity is the answer to everything they are facing in their lives as well as prepare them for what lies beyond the grave.  That’s a lot of expectation to place on religious trappings.  I’m familiar with, and believe, the scripture “Faith comes by hearing the Word of God.”  But I’m also admitting that at times I’ve placed too much expectation on how good the Church package is in influencing people.

On a recent trip to Mexico, I observed visitors walking into the front lobby of a resort.  The resort featured a Mayan theme. I have never been to a church that could rival this lobby in grandeur and awe-inspiring effects.  In the darkly lit sanctuary (lobby), eight statues, each over 80 feet tall stood with arms raised in supplication, around a candlelight pool.  A gentle waterfall, soothing aromas and hypnotic music rounded out the ambiance.  Absolutely everyone who walked into this room was impressed but I think it would be safe to say they were unchanged.  Although it was magnificent, they walked out unchanged,  Although it was powerful, they walked out unchanged.  Photos were taken, some swayed to the music, questions were asked, many stood and soaked in the mood of the environment, many nodded approval, they walked away impressed but unchanged.  On their lips were the words, “That was cool.” not, “How can I be Mayan?”  And sometimes I think people leave our worship saying, “That was cool.” not, “How can I be a Christian?”

When Jesus came to change the world, he did so by gathering others around him, and he mentored them.  He never made edifices.  He may have taught in the temple but I don’t think he gave the temple any more importance than a hillside, a boat , a shore or a sinner’s home.  Small groups continue to be the best setting for relational evangelism. We need our places for celebration, but nothing rivals a small group of Christ followers embracing a seeking person on their journey to faith.

About Tom Hamel

Keel Leadership works with small and medium sized churches to facilitate small group health and growth. The presence of a healthy, thriving community of small groups can help the church become more effective, and can possibly eliminate the need for additional staffing. Contact Keel Leadership for details at 231-301-2957 or keelleadership@gmail.com View all posts by Tom Hamel

Leave a comment