Spread the wealth

If you were to gather the members of your church together and ask them, “What is the responsibility of the pastor?” almost certainly someone would reference Ephesians 4:12 where Paul states, “equip the saints for the work of the ministry.”  Certainly pastors like the potential of this verse. It gives them light at the end of the tunnel knowing that God doesn’t expect them to do everything themselves.  Rather, the people are to be trained to function within the body, sharing the gifts that God has freely given them. To share in the ministry of the church is a blessing as well as a responsibility.  Why then do small group leaders not follow this same model?  Too often I see group leaders personally performing too many roles within the group. They host, welcome, make snacks, teach, pray, sing, counsel and promote the next meeting so they can do it all again.  Stop that.  An effective leader realizes that a small group is a small church.  Like the larger body, one person should not and cannot do it all. The blessing of ministry is to be spread throughout your little community. Members, sharing their gifts for the good of the group, grow stronger in their walk and free the leader to concentrate on leadership.

 

About Tom Hamel

Keel Leadership works with small and medium sized churches to facilitate small group health and growth. The presence of a healthy, thriving community of small groups can help the church become more effective, and can possibly eliminate the need for additional staffing. Contact Keel Leadership for details at 231-301-2957 or keelleadership@gmail.com View all posts by Tom Hamel

4 responses to “Spread the wealth

  • stevensc

    Interesting thought. Let me see if we can stretch it farther. First, I would say that the American pastor, especially in smaller churches is expected to be a five-fold ministry gift to the congregation (apostle, prophet, evangelist, pastor, teacher). Maybe this is why you see similarities in the small group. We have few examples of anything else. Secondly, I wouldn’t go as far to call a small group a small church. I definitely see your point. My small group has become some of my best friends that I do life with. So in some ways, they’re role is greater than the church I attend. Yet on the flip side of the same coin, we don’t partake in the sacraments, we don’t tithe during our meetings, etc. I would say that there a just some things that we don’t do in our small group because we aren’t a church. Great blog!

    • Tom Hamel

      I think you’re right that I went too far when I said a small group is a small church. Although I personally believe it is, I just should not have said it because not everyone feels certain ministries can be carried out at the small group level. You bring up a valid point concerning the sacraments. On the other hand, I have witnessed small group ministry where, and with the pastor’s blessing, baptisms and communion have been a meaningful part of the group’s ministry. This will not be for everyone obviously. Thank you for your comments.

  • Lakia Gordon

    I agree. One person should not do everything. Everyone within the circle must feel a part of the group and have a part. Nice write up.

Leave a comment